Home All Groups Group Topic Archive Search About

Sveasoft dead?

Author
27 Feb 2005 11:45 PM
Ook
Has anyone been able to get to sveasoft's website lately? Their web server
seems to be offline.

Author
28 Feb 2005 4:13 AM
whiner
Ook wrote:

> Has anyone been able to get to sveasoft's website lately? Their web server
> seems to be offline.
>
>
Works for me just now   http://www.sveasoft.com/

Cheers
Author
28 Feb 2005 4:57 AM
Ook
"whiner" <can'tStopComplain***@Canada.ca> wrote in message
news:ZTwUd.14648$TB.3640@edtnps84...
>
>
> Ook wrote:
>
>> Has anyone been able to get to sveasoft's website lately? Their web
>> server seems to be offline.
> Works for me just now   http://www.sveasoft.com/
>
> Cheers
>

Maybe there is some routing issues between them and me? I'm still getting
"The operation timed out when attempting to contact www.sveasoft.com". If I
ping them I get (notice the sveasoft.tk):

C:\Documents and Settings\Ook>ping www.sveasoft.com
Pinging sveasoft.tk [62.20.102.132] with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.

Request timed out.

Request timed out.

And:

Network Error
Unable to request URL from host www.sveasoft.com:80: Operation timed out
Author
1 Mar 2005 2:07 AM
Moe Trin
In article <m_2dndTjC6JKLr_fRVn***@giganews.com>, Ook wrote:

>Maybe there is some routing issues between them and me? I'm still getting
>"The operation timed out when attempting to contact www.sveasoft.com". If I
>ping them I get (notice the sveasoft.tk):

The fact that you get the CNAME says that someone can talk to their
nameservers, which may or may not be in the same general location.
".tk" is Tokelau - a group of islands in the central Pacific that sells
designer domain names. A lot of the actual hosts seem to be in the USA or
(as in this case) Scandinavia. No idea what is the attraction. Whatever.

[compton ~]$ host www.sveasoft.com
www.sveasoft.com is a nickname for sveasoft.tk
sveasoft.tk has address 62.20.102.132
sveasoft.tk mail is handled (pri=1) by mail.sveasoft.tk
[compton ~]$ ping -c3 www.sveasoft.com
PING sveasoft.tk (62.20.102.132): 56 data bytes

--- sveasoft.tk ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss
[compton ~]$ traceroute -n -f 15 www.sveasoft.com
traceroute to sveasoft.tk (62.20.102.132) from 0.0.0.0, 30 hops max, 38 byte pac
kets
15  81.228.72.29   308.886 ms  299.282 ms  299.643 ms
16  81.228.72.207   308.902 ms  299.336 ms  299.653 ms
17  212.181.192.50   308.932 ms  299.153 ms  309.605 ms
18  217.209.247.22   318.925 ms  319.192 ms  329.052 ms
19  * * *
20  * * *
[compton ~]$

Hmmm...   Won't respond to pings, and there is something blocking 19 hops
from me.  But I can see there is a web server. Let's try something else.

[compton ~]$ tcptraceroute -n -f 15 www.sveasoft.com 80
Selected device eth0, address 192.168.1.28, port 14740 for outgoing packets
Tracing the path to www.sveasoft.com (62.20.102.132) on TCP port 80, 30 hops max
15  81.228.72.75 (81.228.72.75)  308.619 ms  298.695 ms  309.029 ms
16  81.228.72.207 (81.228.72.207)  299.165 ms  318.667 ms  299.053 ms
17  212.181.192.50 (212.181.192.50)  299.934 ms  298.635 ms  299.078 ms
18  217.209.247.22 (217.209.247.22)  309.768 ms  308.558 ms  309.311 ms
19  62.20.102.132 (62.20.102.132) [open]  309.836 ms  309.244 ms  308.936 ms
[compton ~]$

They are running a firewall that is "stealth".  How exciting.

        Old guy
Author
28 Feb 2005 1:43 PM
gekco
Ook wrote:
> Has anyone been able to get to sveasoft's website lately? Their web server
> seems to be offline.
>
>
What it means is your banned from their site.
Author
28 Feb 2005 5:21 PM
Ook
"gekco" <notme@nospamyahoo.com> wrote in message
news:PdFUd.82062$Yu.44881@fed1read01...
> Ook wrote:
>> Has anyone been able to get to sveasoft's website lately? Their web
>> server seems to be offline.
> What it means is your banned from their site.

That makes no sense. It's more likely they banned my ISP for some odd
reason. I just realised that since I switched from Comcast to Qwest, that is
when I was no longer able to get in.
Author
28 Feb 2005 9:05 PM
gekco
Ook wrote:
Show quoteHide quote
> "gekco" <notme@nospamyahoo.com> wrote in message
> news:PdFUd.82062$Yu.44881@fed1read01...
>
>>Ook wrote:
>>
>>>Has anyone been able to get to sveasoft's website lately? Their web
>>>server seems to be offline.
>>
>>What it means is your banned from their site.
>
>
> That makes no sense. It's more likely they banned my ISP for some odd
> reason. I just realised that since I switched from Comcast to Qwest, that is
> when I was no longer able to get in.
>
>
Yep they did it to me too once.
Author
28 Feb 2005 10:13 PM
Peter Pan
gekco wrote:
Show quoteHide quote
> Ook wrote:
>> "gekco" <notme@nospamyahoo.com> wrote in message
>> news:PdFUd.82062$Yu.44881@fed1read01...
>>
>>> Ook wrote:
>>>
>>>> Has anyone been able to get to sveasoft's website lately? Their web
>>>> server seems to be offline.
>>>
>>> What it means is your banned from their site.
>>
>>
>> That makes no sense. It's more likely they banned my ISP for some odd
>> reason. I just realised that since I switched from Comcast to Qwest,
>> that is when I was no longer able to get in.
>>
>>
> Yep they did it to me too once.

Have you tried going to it's octet address directly? Don't know what it is
offhand, but I wonder if that would be blocked?
Author
28 Feb 2005 10:34 PM
Peter Pan
Peter Pan wrote:
Show quoteHide quote
> gekco wrote:
>> Ook wrote:
>>> "gekco" <notme@nospamyahoo.com> wrote in message
>>> news:PdFUd.82062$Yu.44881@fed1read01...
>>>
>>>> Ook wrote:
>>>>
>>>>> Has anyone been able to get to sveasoft's website lately? Their
>>>>> web server seems to be offline.
>>>>
>>>> What it means is your banned from their site.
>>>
>>>
>>> That makes no sense. It's more likely they banned my ISP for some
>>> odd reason. I just realised that since I switched from Comcast to
>>> Qwest, that is when I was no longer able to get in.
>>>
>>>
>> Yep they did it to me too once.
>
> Have you tried going to it's octet address directly? Don't know what
> it is offhand, but I wonder if that would be blocked?

By the way.. it is From Whois....IP Address:  62.20.102.132
Author
28 Feb 2005 11:05 PM
Ook
>>>
>>>> That makes no sense. It's more likely they banned my ISP for some
>>>> odd reason. I just realised that since I switched from Comcast to
>>>> Qwest, that is when I was no longer able to get in.
>>>>
>>>>
>>> Yep they did it to me too once.
>>
>> Have you tried going to it's octet address directly? Don't know what
>> it is offhand, but I wonder if that would be blocked?
>
> By the way.. it is From Whois....IP Address:  62.20.102.132
>

Tried that too - doesn't get through. A TR hops into the Telia network in
Sweden, but drops off at the 21st hop. I got a responce from them asking
what my IP address is, but haven't heard back from them.